U. S. Servas

promoting world peace one conversation at a time…

Meet Hayden!

2 Comments

Hayden Wetzel

What is your Servas background? Have been a Servas host and traveller since 2000, and served as coordinator for the Washington DC area about 2001-10.

How long you have been an interviewer? 2000 to present. I would say I interview prospective members about every two months.

Where have you traveled? Traveled (with Servas) to Romania/Hungary/Slovakia, Haiti/Suriname, Japan/Taiwan/Hong Kong, Kyrgyzstan/Armenia/Georgia, Germany/Poland/Denmark.

What is one great memory you have from Servas (as a traveler, host, or interviewer)? So many!  Perhaps the dinner given for me by almost all the Servas members in Suriname (I stayed over an extra day so that I could join them), or the wonderful help given me by Servas members in Taipei to find my dear old friend there who I had not seen for over thirty years.  This summer I will attend the wedding of a Servas friend in Hungary.

What hobbies do you enjoy? Reading, history, music, religion, walking the neighborhoods of Washington (I am a licensed tour guide here).

Why are you involved with Servas, and why do you think that Servas is important? When my last child moved from the house I had lots of extra space here and Servas friends from my church had long talked about Servas with me — one day it just clicked!  The friendships I have made (some long-term, some just for the time of the visit) have enriched my life wonderfully.  And the lives of my friends here, who have often met my travellers.  The informality and flexibility of the organization suits me perfectly.

Say hello to Hayden if you’re near Washington DC!

 

Author: United States Servas, Inc.

Servas is a worldwide cooperative cultural exchange network established in 1948 and composed of member hosts and travelers working together to foster peace, goodwill and mutual respect. Servas seeks to realize these aims by providing opportunities for person-to-person contacts between people of diverse cultures and backgrounds. Our mission includes providing approved US and international travelers with opportunities to be guests of Servas member hosts around the world.

2 thoughts on “Meet Hayden!

  1. Hayden is great! Thank to you, Hayden, for your wonderful walking trips over your beloved Washington, DC!

  2. hi hayden! good 2 CU and 2 note that u also relax once a while

Tell us what you think!

