U. S. Servas

promoting world peace one conversation at a time…

Meet Evelyn Wolf!

Leave a comment

Evelyn Wolf is an interview and host in Dever, CO

SERVAS BACKGROUND:

I joined Servas as a host about 30 years ago.  When traveling to Greece, I met an Australian couple who were Servas members and that’s when I signed up and have been a host since.  At the time, I lived in Ann Arbor, Michigan and now in Denver.  Over the years, I’ve been a Servas traveler, mainly throughout Europe.  There are friends I’ve made through hosting and travel, with whom I still communicate and visit from time to time.  The experiences have been wonderful and when one travels as a Servas traveler,  the cultural exchange is invaluable and allows one to feel part of the culture.

How long I’ve been an interviewer
At this point, it’s so many years, I don’t quite remember, though I keep all of the membership applications, that are stacked somewhere.  But, I’m thinking perhaps about 15 years.  And I enjoy interviewing, both in person and on the phone.  I have met a number of extraordinary and delightful people who signed up with Servas through me.
Where have I traveled?
Not everywhere I traveled with Servas.  The list of countries I’ve been to include: The entire United States, Canada, Mexico, Venezuela, Ecuador, Peru, France, Italy, Belgium, Holland, Germany, Denmark, Switzerland, Greece, Turkey, Sweden, England, Austria, Spain, Poland, Hungary, India
Servas Memory
There have been so many wonderful memories, it’s difficult to pick one.  One that stands out in my mind is a trip to the westernish part of France, near the Dordogne.  My husband and I were the family’s first Servas visitors.  They took us around to sites, mainly into caves with the hieroglyphics and paintings on the walls from pre-historic times, that were incredible.  This was a remote region where our host family, as well as the other families in the village, lived for centuries going back to days where surnames did not exist.  We were the first Americans, believe it or not, this family and their friends had ever seen.  They were all wonderful and magnificent.   Had I not been conversant in French, I never could have that experience since no one spoke English, except for a few words here and there.
Hobbies I enjoy
Actually I enjoy too many hobbies and so do not have the time to spend on them all.  Top of the list is travel.  I’m a sports enthusiast and have played lots of tennis.  Living in Colorado, I hike and bicycle in summers and spend a number of days downhill skiing and x-c ski in between.  I also work out and do Pilates on a regular basis.  When I have the time, I enjoy cooking and always enjoy good restaurants.  I’m a music lover of classical music, opera, and jazz.
Favorite quote
Speak softly and carry a big stick.  Another is–It ain’t over til the fat lady sings.
Why I’m involved in Servas and why I think it’s important
Needless to say, I’ve always found this organization to be great and wish more people would be involved.  It offers a way to meet interesting and dynamic people both nationally and internationally that would otherwise be impossible.  The people in Servas are very varied and from all walks of life.  It’s important for the very reasons it was founded, which is to break down cultural barriers and build tolerances to all people.  Servas provides a means of travel to people who probably could not travel or could not travel as extensively.  Being hosted in different countries gives the traveler an enriched experience and inside perspective of cultures and people and the traveler is able to become part of the culture through a host family.  With Servas, you’re a traveler rather than a tourist staying at a fancy hotel who goes sightseeing.
Evelyn would be delighted to host if you’re in Denver!
Author: United States Servas, Inc.

Servas is a worldwide cooperative cultural exchange network established in 1948 and composed of member hosts and travelers working together to foster peace, goodwill and mutual respect. Servas seeks to realize these aims by providing opportunities for person-to-person contacts between people of diverse cultures and backgrounds. Our mission includes providing approved US and international travelers with opportunities to be guests of Servas member hosts around the world.

Tell us what you think!

