U. S. Servas

promoting world peace one conversation at a time…

Meet Carol!

Leave a comment

Visit Carol in Tuscon, Arizona!

What is your Servas background?  My folks joined in the late 60s, so I’ve known about it for a long time.  I joined as a host in 89.  I’ve done a little SERVAS traveling, to Australia in 98, and some US visits since then.  I “inherited” being an interviewer, when my mother was no longer able to do it, we needed another interviewer in Tucson, so I took it on.

How long you have been an interviewer?  It was 1998 or earlier.

Where have you traveled?  Australia, Jamaica, Costa Rica, Panama, Europe

What is one great memory you have from Servas (as a traveler, host, or interviewer)?  We had some travelers from Austria, they arrived as scheduled, just in time for dinner.  When I walked in from the patio with the platter containing the meat I’d been grilling they exclaimed “You have meat in your garden?”.  We laughed and I explained the BBQ grill.  Later that evening they were showing us pictures of their home and I expressed some surprise at the size of the building, and they laughed and explained that the barn and house are all one building.  For me, that is some of the essence of SERVAS, the sharing of our lives and learning new things.

 What hobbies do you enjoy?  Dancing, reading, cooking,

Why are you involved with Servas, and why do you think that Servas is important?  I’m involved for 2 reasons, one because I believe in the purpose of promoting peace , and the other because I enjoy meeting people, and think getting to know the people is the best way to get to know an area. I think SERVAS is important I believe getting to know people is the best way to promote peace. People can dislike a country because of something in the politics or policies they don’t agree with, but it is much harder to dislike a person for their countries politics or policies. And once you to get to know someone its harder to paint the all occupants of the country or region they are from with that broad critical brush.

Author: United States Servas, Inc.

Servas is a worldwide cooperative cultural exchange network established in 1948 and composed of member hosts and travelers working together to foster peace, goodwill and mutual respect. Servas seeks to realize these aims by providing opportunities for person-to-person contacts between people of diverse cultures and backgrounds. Our mission includes providing approved US and international travelers with opportunities to be guests of Servas member hosts around the world.

Tell us what you think!

